##### Introduction
Some adventuring gear descriptions are exceptionally ambiguous. These are clarified and expanded upon here.
### Items Used as Improvised Weapons
When used offensively, some adventuring gear items are treated as improvised weapons and thus inherit the properties of improvised weapons that don't resemble existing weapons. However, each of these items replaces the normal damage of an improvised weapon with something else. You can't use these items as ordinary improvised weapons.
Additionally, Acid, Alchemist's Fire, and Oil are used with the Use an Object action. Even though their use involves a weapon attack, you can't use them as part of the Attack action, and thus Extra Attack and similar class features don't apply to them.
Most characters aren't proficient with improvised weapons, and so don't add their proficiency bonus to attack rolls with them. Again, if the Feats optional rule is used, the Tavern Brawler feat is one way to acquire such a proficiency.
#### Acid (vial)
You can take the Use an Object action to either splash the contents of this vial onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the vial up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged weapon attack against a creature or object, treating the acid as an improvised weapon. On a hit, the target takes 2d6 acid damage, plus your Dexterity modifer in acid damage as normal for a ranged weapon attack.
Since it is always a ranged weapon attack, when splashing the acid onto a creature within 5 feet, you still use Dexterity for the attack roll and will usually have disadvantage on the attack roll from being within 5 feet of a hostile creature who can see you.
A single vial of acid is used up entirely after hitting or missing either kind of attack, but the glass vial remains intact if you splashed its contents.
#### Alchemist's Fire (flask)
You can take the Use an Object action to throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the alchemist's fire as an improvised weapon.
The flask, by itself, does not deal damage on a hit. Instead, the target is set aflame. At the start of each of the target's turns, they take 1d4 fire damage plus your Dexterity modifier in fire damage, since these are still damage rolls from a weapon attack.
\columnbreak
The fire continues indefinitely until extinguished. Any creature within 5 feet of the target, which could be the target or another creature, can take an action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check. On a success, the flames are extinguished and no alchemist's fire remains.
#### Oil (flask)
1-pint flasks of oil have two main combat uses: Covering creatures, or pouring on the ground.
***Covering a Creature.*** You can take the Use an Object action to either splash the oil in the flask onto a creature within 5 feet of you or throw the flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. In either case, make a ranged weapon attack against a creature or object, treating the oil as an improvised weapon.
Since it is always a ranged weapon attack, when splashing the oil onto a creature within 5 feet, you still use Dexterity for the attack roll and will usually have disadvantage on the attack roll from being within 5 feet of a hostile creature who can see you.
On a hit, the oil or flask, by itself, does not deal damage. Instead, the target is covered in oil. Whenever the target takes fire damage before the oil dries, the target takes an extra 5 fire damage from burning oil. This can happen any number of times before the oil dries. The oil dries after 1 minute.
***Pouring on the Ground.*** You can take the Use an Object action to pour the oil on the ground, covering a 5-foot-square area, provided that the ground is level (which most floors and many outdoor areas are). If lit, such as by touching a torch to it (as a free object interaction), taking the Use an Object action with a tinderbox, or casting a spell like *fireball*, the oil catches fire and remains burning for 2 rounds (ending at the end of the turn of the same creature whose turn it was when the oil was lit).
While the oil burns, whenever a creature enters the area or ends its turn in the area, that creature takes 5 fire damage. A creature can't take this damage more than once in a single turn (though it might take it more than once in a single round).
A single flask of oil is used up entirely after a single use (either to try cover a creature or poured on the ground), but the clay flask remains intact if you splashed or poured out its contents.
#### Torch
A torch, once lit, burns for 1 hour, providing bright light in a 20-foot radius and dim light for an additional 20 feet.
A burning torch, in addition to providing light, can be used to easily ignite flammable material. For oil, fine kindling, straw, and similarly inflammable things, this only requires a touch (an object interaction, if the target isn't a creature).
You can make a melee weapon attack with a burning torch, treating it as an improvised weapon. It does not use the normal improvised weapon damage. Instead, on a hit, the target takes 1 fire damage, plus your Strength modifier in fire damage as normal for a melee weapon attack.
\pagebreakNum
> ##### Variant Rule: Alternate Alchemist's Fire
> If you want a less quirky alchemist's fire, replace it with this variant.
>
> **Alchemist's Fire (flask).** You can take the Use an Object action to throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the alchemist's fire as an improvised weapon.
>
> On a hit, the flask deals the normal 1d4 + your Dexterity modifier bludgeoning damage of an improvised weapon. Additionally, it sets the target aflame. At the start of each of the target's turns, they take 2d4 fire damage (no ability modifier).
>
> The fire continues for up to 1 minute or until extinguished. Any creature within 5 feet of the target, which could be the target or another creature, can take an action to make a DC 10 Dexterity check. On a success, the flames are extinguished and no alchemist's fire remains.
> ##### Variant Rule: Alternate Oil
> If you want less quirky mechanics for oil flasks, replace them with this variant.
>
> **Oil (flask).** 1-pint flasks of oil have two main combat uses: Covering creatures, or pouring on the ground.
>
> ***Covering a Creature.*** You can take the Use an Object action to throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on impact. Make a ranged attack against a creature or object, treating the oil as an improvised weapon.
>
> On a hit, the flask deals the normal 1d4 + your Dexterity modifier bludgeoning damage of an improvised weapon. Additionally, the target is covered in oil. If unburnt, the oil dries and becomes useless after 1 minute.
>
> If the target takes fire damage while the oil is unlit and before the oil dries, the oil lights on fire and the target immediately takes 2d4 fire damage from the oil. At the start of its next turn, the target takes 2d4 fire damage and the oil finishes burning, after which no oil remains.
>
> ***Pouring on the Ground.*** You can take the Use an Object action to pour the oil on the ground, covering a 5-foot-square area, provided that the ground is level (which most floors and many outdoor areas are). If unburnt, the oil dries and becomes useless after 1 minute. If lit, the oil catches fire and remains burning for 2 rounds (ending at the end of the turn of the same creature whose turn it was when the oil was lit).
>
> When a creature enters the area of the burning oil for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there, it takes 2d4 fire damage.
\columnbreak
### Items Dependent on Movement
Ball bearings and caltrops allow creatures to avoid making a saving throw by moving at 'half speed'. Moving at half speed means spending twice as much movement to cross a space as you would otherwise. You can't move at half speed if you're not spending movement, such as if you are thrown or dragged through the space.
For example, a creature moves down a 15 ft. long hallway. If it decides to move at half speed, it spends 30 feet of movement to get to the other end of the hallway, and if there are ball bearings, caltrops, or similar hazards in the space, it doesn't need to make a saving throw.
These low hazards don't threaten creatures that aren't touching the ground, such as creatures that are flying.
#### Ball Bearings (bag of 1,000)
You can take the Use an Object action to spill these tiny metal balls to cover a level 10-foot-square area. When a creature enters the area, it must succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity saving throw or fall prone. This can happen more than once in a turn if a creature enters the area multiple times.
A creature using movement to enter the area can choose to move at 'half speed', spending twice as much movement to enter and move within the area as it would otherwise. If it does, it doesn't need to make the saving throw.
#### Caltrops (20)
You can take the Use an Object action to spread a single bag of 20 caltrops to cover a 5-foot-square area. When a creature enters the area, it makes a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw. This can happen more than once in a turn if a creature enters the area multiple times.
On a failed save, the creature takes 1 piercing damage and its speed becomes 0 for the rest of the turn. Thereafter, its walking speed is reduced by 10 feet until it regains at least 1 hit point in any way, typically from resting or magical healing.
A creature using movement to enter the area can choose to move at 'half speed', spending twice as much movement to enter and move within the area as it would otherwise. If it does, it doesn't need to make the saving throw.
##### Further Notes
Adventuring gear like this is most relevant at early levels, or with a Thief rogue in the party.
Attacks that do not deal damage on a hit can still have extra damage added. This doesn't break anything damage-wise; it merely makes things like the net reasonable to use. If the effect doesn't specify a damage type (such as is the case with Sneak Attack and *hunter's mark*), assume that the damage is bludgeoning.
DMs should consider lowering the common prices of Acid, Alchemist's Fire, and poisons to put the prices more in line with their function. 10gp for a vial of acid and 20gp for a flask of Alchemist's Fire is a reasonable new price point.
\pagebreakNum
## Magic Items
##### Introduction
Some magic item descriptions are exceptionally ambiguous. This section has alternate descriptions that attempt to clarify the scope of these magic items' function.
### Broom of Flying
*Wondrous item, uncommon*
___
This wooden broom, which weighs 3 pounds, functions like a mundane broom until you speak one of its command words, which could be in any language (or might be gibberish). Speaking a command word doesn't take an action.
The command words allow the broom to fly, with a flying speed of 50 feet. Regardless of the command word used, it can carry up to 400 pounds, but its flying speed becomes 30 feet while carrying over 200 pounds. It can't carry more than two Small or Medium creatures at a time, and it can't carry a Large or larger creature, regardless of weight.
***Word of Flight.*** When you speak this command word, the broom begins to hover in place, and can be ridden in the air. Mounting the broom can be done before or after speaking the command word, and doesn't cost movement. Treat the speed of the broom as a flying speed of the rider, except that it can't be increased or reduced unless it is reduced to 0. The broom stops hovering when the rider lands.
***Word of Travel.*** When you speak this command word, if the broom isn't currently being ridden by a creature, you can send the broom to travel at its speed to a destination within 1 mile of you if you speak the command word, name the location, and have been in that place observing it at least once. On the way, the broom can navigate around simple physical obstacles.
***Word of Recall.*** When you speak this command word, the broom can respond from up to 1 mile away. If you are the last creature that has ridden the broom, it returns to you at its speed. On the way, the broom can navigate around simple physical obstacles.
> ##### Variant Rule: Difficult Brooms
> If you want a *broom of flying* that is not so safe to use in combat, alter it in the following ways:
>
> * Mounting the broom costs movement equal to half your speed.
>
> * If you are moved against your will or fall prone while riding the broom, you must succeed on a DC 10 Dexterity saving throw or fall off the broom, landing prone.
>
> * If you fall unconscious while riding the broom, you fall off the broom, landing prone.
\columnbreak
### Mask of the Dragon Queen
*Wondrous item, legendary (requires attunement)*
___
This item, from the Rise of Tiamat adventure, is created by magically assembling two or more of the individual dragon masks. Each mask shrinks to become the modeled head of a chromatic dragon, appearing to roar its devotion to Tiamat; the heads are arranged crown-like on the wearer's head. Below them, a new mask shapes itself, granting the wearer a draconic visage that covers the face, neck, and shoulders.
The mask reshapes to fit a wearer attuned to it, just as the individual masks do.
When you attune to the mask, choose one of the component masks it contains. While you wear the *Mask of the Dragon Queen,* you can access all the properties of that component mask except the Damage Absorption and Legendary Resistance properties.
Additionally, regardless of the component masks it contains, you gain the following benefits while wearing the mask:
***Damage Absorption.*** You have resistance to acid, cold, fire, lightning, and poison damage. If you already have resistance to one or more of these damage types from another source, you instead have immunity to those types. If you already have immunity to one or more of these damage types from another source, whenever you are subjected to that type of damage, you take none of that damage and regain a number of hit points equal to half the damage dealt of that type.
***Legendary Resistance (5/day).*** If you fail a saving throw, you can choose to succeed instead. You can use this property five times; the mask regains expended uses daily at dawn.
##### Further Notes
Remember that speed and movement are different things: you can't alter a *broom of flying*'s speed using *longstrider* or *slow* on the rider, but it's still affected by difficult terrain and the rider can still take the Dash action to fly further with the broom.
As per DMG p141, if a magic item requires an action to activate, that action isn't a function of the Use an Object action, so a feature such as the rogue's Fast Hands can't be used to activate the item.
\pagebreakNum
# Rulings
## Preface
These rulings aim to be clear, self-consistent, and sufficiently balanced for play. This goal means that they occasionally contradict rulings or expressions of intent from Jeremy Crawford or Mike Mearls, two of the game's designers.
### Willing Creatures
**Some effects, such as the spells *haste* and *fly*, require a willing target. What constitutes a willing target?**
A creature who knows of the existence of an effect and decides to accept it at the moment the effect begins is a willing target. A useful rule of thumb is "Given a few seconds and the ability to speak, would they express verbal consent?"
In line with that, unconscious creatures and creatures that are unaware of the effect's existence aren't willing targets.
Just like deception or coercion can cause someone to be willing when they normally wouldn't be, magic that affects the mind (such as the spells *suggestion* or *dominate person*) can too.
___
**Therefore, what can trigger the additional damage on movement from the spell *booming blade?***
You can use similar conditions for *booming blade*'s movement-triggered damage as are used for opportunity attacks: When the creature uses its movement, action, or reaction to move, the damage triggers. It doesn't trigger if the target falls prone, stands up from prone, teleports, or is moved by something like shoving or the *thunderwave* spell.
This contradicts Jeremy Crawford's ruling, because (*a*) that ruling gives *booming blade* the ability to detect if someone is under an effect like *dominate person*, which is a 'radar problem' and out of the spell's scope, and (*b*) the spell remains at a balanced power level when it can synergize with spells such as *command* and *dissonant whispers*.
### Spell Targets
**For the purposes of effects like the Twinned Spell metamagic, *find steed's* spell-twinning effect, and *contingency*, what constitutes a spell's targets?**
### Magical Effect Interactions
**If the same spell is cast twice on a single target, such as two different warlocks casting *hex* on the same foe, what happens?**
Combining Magical Effects in the PHB (p205) covers this in its basic form: The durations overlap, and for the time that both effects exist, the most potent effect is the only one that applies, or the most recent for effects of equal potency.
Two instances of the same spell only differ in 'potency' if they differ in some way *other* than duration, number of targets, or choices made during the casting of the spell. Spell level, by itself, does *not* affect potency, though an 'At Higher Levels' effect might. If they do differ in potency, it's typically fairly clear which is more potent: a higher number, more damage dice, or something along those lines.
For instances of equal potency (which is more likely), the *most recently cast* instance is active, and all other instances are inactive.
For the example of *hex*, since there's no way for two *hex* spells to differ in potency, only the instance that was most recently cast is active. Therefore, only that instance's caster will get the 1d6 extra necrotic damage on a hit attack, and only that instance inflicts disadvantage to the chosen ability's checks for the target. Each other instance does nothing.
The durations of effects like this overlap and don't interfere with each other. For example, if that most recently cast *hex* ends, such as by the caster dropping concentration, then the next most recent among the other instances will be in effect.
___
**If a spell or other magical effect's target stops being a valid target after the spell was cast (or effect began) but before it ends, what happens?**
Some examples of this situation:
* A creature under the effect of the *haste* spell stops being willing
* A druid under the effect of *dominate person* is commanded to use Wild Shape, therefore no longer being humanoid
* A zombie under the effect of a cleric's Turn Undead becomes affected by *polymorph*, therefore no longer being undead
* A creature possessed via *magic jar* (which can only be used to possess humanoid targets) becomes affected by *polymorph*, therefore no longer being humanoid
* A creature under the effect of *polymorph* being killed instantly without damage
(Despite this having important mechanical and narrative consequences, there is no official ruling or advice on this point.)
___
**If you use *find steed* to cause a spell like *contingency* or *wish* to have a second target, what happens?**
Funky things.
___
**How do the spells *magic jar* and *death ward* interact?**
Oh, boy. First we need to answer "What is a creature?" with respect to bodies and souls.
___
**...What about *magic jar* with *clone* or *astral projection?***
Now you're just fucking with me.
Jokes aside, the intricacies of soul magic in 5th edition remain essentially undefined by the rules. Some simple ways to rule these spells in particular:
* *Clone* creates a backup body in the shape of the target's current body for the soul currently in the target.
* Astral bodies act like real bodies for the duration of *astral projection*. The catatonic material bodies are empty vessels; they can be possessed, but no soul resides within to be displaced. Since spell effects don't interfere with each other unless specified, if *astral projection* then ends, two souls end up residing in one body, with whatever ramifications the DM sees fit.
\pagebreakNum
### Single Spells
**With the *shield* spell, does the caster know the attack roll's result before deciding whether to cast *shield?***
Yes. The caster gets to know the attack roll's result before deciding whether or not the cast *shield*. It's impossible to accidentally 'waste' *shield* from not knowing whether the attack roll is high enough to hit regardless.
However, the caster does *not* know whether the hit is a critical hit by the time they have to decide whether to cast *shield*. If the incoming hit is a critical hit, the caster still only knows the final result of the attack roll (the die plus any modifiers), and because critical hits hit regardless of AC, the caster might unwittingly cast a *shield* that can't block that hit. (The *shield* will still persist for its full duration, as normal.)
___
**With a spell such as *enhance ability* that lets the caster choose from one of multiple options, if there are multiple targets, can the caster choose different options for different targets?**
No. Unless the the spell explicitly states otherwise (such as *animal shapes* does), the caster makes one choice, which applies to each target.
A few ways this situation can come about are:
* Casting spells like *command* or *enhance ability* with a higher-level spell slot
* The sorcerer's Twinned Spell metamagic
* The *find steed* spell
In each case, you are altering what the spell targets, but nothing else. You are not casting the spell multiple times. For example, *enhance ability* states "You touch a creature and bestow upon it a magical enhancement. Choose one of the following effects (...)" When you cast *enhance ability* with a 3rd-level or higher level slot, this effectively becomes "You touch *multiple creatures* and bestow upon *them* a magical enhancement. Choose one of the following effects (...)"
If the spell has constraints based on the target, such as *polymorph* requiring the new form to have CR equal to or less than the target's CR or the target's level, then those constraints apply for each target. For example, if you cast *polymorph* on two targets using Twinned Spell, the form you choose must have a CR equal to or less than each target's CR (or level).
Lastly, attack rolls always have a single target. If you cause a spell with an attack roll to target additional creatures, a separate attack roll is made for each target. Just like with other spells, however, damage rolls are still only rolled once and used for each target they apply to.
___
**Can there be any benefit to casting *aid* on a target that already has *aid* active on it?**
The spell *aid* is peculiar in that one of its ongoing effects—increasing current hit points—can essentially end before the spell does, and it's unique in that the spell doesn't specify when that happens, since there's nothing in the text to distingush which of your hit points are from *aid*.
Treat *aid*'s effect on current hit points as 'beneath' the existing hit points, and therefore the last to go when you take damage.
If the new casting of *aid* is at a lower level than the previous, nothing very useful happens. The new spell is less potent (since it provides a smaller number of hit points / max hit points), and therefore is entirely inactive until the existing *aid* spell ends.
If the new spell is at the same or higher level than the existing *aid*, the new spell has precedence (by potency or recency), and so the existing *aid* spell becomes inactive and the new one is active. The target's current hit points stay the same unless they're below the amount specified in the spell, in which case they are increased to that amount.
Under this ruling, casting *aid* a second time (as long as it isn't at a lower level) works a lot like how things work if the first *aid* were dispelled before the second was cast. In both cases, the earlier *aid* is no longer doing anything, and the later *aid* is in full effect.
___
**With *find steed* or *find greater steed*, what does 'a spell that targets only you' mean? What spells can I use the steeds' 'twinning' effect with?**
Whew. Okay, this one's a bit noodly, in that—
___
**What does 'reasonable' mean in the description of *suggestion?***
Um, this is actually—
___
**The spell *prestidigitation* can temporarily create trinkets. What does 'trinket' mean in this context?**
Just give me some time! Sheesh!
> ##### The Author
>
> You can find me on Reddit (u/feathered_kvothe), or in the Haven discord server, a D&D discussion server with an active homebrew community. I'm happy to field questions in either place.
>
> I also have a (very young) blog—Design & Counsel—where I post homebrew, essays on 5e, and other thoughts.