Antimagic Field, True Polymorph, Magic Jar, Clone, and Other Ambiguous Interactions and Edge Cases
Preface
After reading an exceptional number of posts, tweets, threads, source materials, and discussions pertaining to these, and other widely debated topics, my goal is to create a document that clarifies, simplifies, or fixes some of the issues, confusion, or multiple interpretations of some of these interactions.
Antimagic Field
If you're reading this, you probably already know what an Antimagic field is supposed to do, and you might have very general or very specific questions about this topic. I will try to address as many of these as I can in the following paragraphs. For most things, if you can use Dispel Magic on something, it probably won't work inside an Antimagic field. Otherwise it might work.
Spellcasting - Definitely a no-go inside an Antimagic field - no debate here.
Spell Effects - Active spells and spell effects are suppressed while inside an Antimagic field. These effects persist, and their durations count down normally while inside the field, but they do nothing within the boundaries of the Antimagic field.
Concentration Spells - You can continue to concentrate on a spell after moving inside an Antimagic field, but the effects of the spell are suppressed while you are inside.
Magic Items - Magic items are effectively mundane while inside an Antimagic field, once outside the field, they function the same way they did before.
Cursed Magic Items - While any active magical effects conveyed by a cursed item are suppressed while you are inside an Antimagic field, the effects of the curse resume as soon as you leave. The curse persists, even if the cursed item is left inside the field and even if the cursed item is destroyed, until a remove curse spell is successfully cast on you, or if alternative curse removal conditions are met.
Summoned/Conjured Creatures - A Creature conjured via a summoning spell, such as Summon Beast, is an effect of the magic spell, and only exists while that spell is active. It is a purely magical manifestation. When this manifestation comes into contact with an Antimagic field, even a small part of it, the entire creature winks out of existence until the contact is broken, or the effect ends. There is no way to direct such a creature to move out of the field, as it is no longer there to command.
Summoned Creatures: Persistent
Some creatures are initially summoned and bound to you using magic, such as with the Find Familiar spell.
A familiar either existed somewhere in the multiverse before you cast the spell, and it was brought to you as a result of casting the spell (almost like a miniature Gate spell), and then bound to you magically, or it was created by Magic directly. In either case, it will be fine inside an Antimagic field. The familiar is not just manifesting due to the magic that brought it here, it is actually physically here. You can't dispel a familiar, so why would it disappear inside an Antimagic field? If you used a spell like Create Food and Water to create food and water, that food wouldn't disappear inside an Antimagic field. If you ate nothing but food created from such a spell for your entire life, you would not disappear inside an Antimagic field either.
If your familiar wanders in to an Antimagic field, it does not wink out of existence, but your telepathic link and familiar specific abilities ceases to function until it leaves the Antimagic field.
The familiar behaves like a wild creature of its type, although it may still be friendly to you and your allies, it most likely will not follow your orders unless you have another mundane method of communication with it. It behaves this way as well if you are in the Antimagic field, and it is not, since your telepathic link is suppressed.
If your familiar dies while inside an Antimagic field, that's just a tragedy. It's body remains, and continues to remain even after it is removed from the Antimagic field, or the Antimagic field effect ends. It does not disappear when it reaches 0 hp while inside an Antimagic field because it has no way to return to the pocket dimension where it usually recovers. You can't dismiss or recall a familiar while inside. The magic that keeps your familiar from suffering a final death is suppressed while inside an Antimagic field, and it is simply a mortal creature while inside.
You could summon a different familiar once you are outside of the Antimagic field, or cast another spell like Revivify to bring it back to life, but the magic binding it to you would need to be re-established, so you would have to cast Find Familiar again anyway.
Conjured/Summoned Creatures Fixed Duration - If a Summoned or Conjured creature does not normally disappear when concentration ends, then it will persist and function normally, even inside an Antimagic field.
For example, Elementals Conjured with a spell like Conjure Elementals would not wink out of existence in an Antimagic field, but an Elemental summoned with the spell Summon Elementals would.
The difference being that the Conjured Elemental does not disappear when you stop concentrating, you just lose the ability to control it.
In this case, the Conjured Elemental would die at the end of the time specified by the spell. Alternatively, it could be banished before then, but Dispel Magic would have no effect on it because the original spell ended when concentration ended.
Imagine that when you conjure an Elemental using the Conjure Elemental Spell, you are using magic to create the Elemental out of available Elemental energy, weaving the threads of material together into elemental life, usually a very short life. At this point, it is no longer magical, it is just an Elemental.
This is very different from how an Elemental summoned using the Summon Elemental spell works. A summoned Elemental disappears if you stop concentrating on the spell. The Elemental in this case is a purely magical manifestation of an Elemental. The spell descriptions for most Summon and Conjure spells do not seem to have any consistency when it comes to naming, and many spells that have Conjure in their name do not function this way either. If a creature would disappear when you stop concentrating on the spell that brought it here, it would also disappear in an Antimagic field. Otherwise, it would not be affected.
Animated Creatures - Undead, such as those animated using the Create Undead spell, do not collapse into a pile of rotten flesh or dusty bones when they enter an Antimagic field. Some of their abilities may be suppressed, but the negative energy that fuels undeath is as mundane as the spark of life that fuels life in a mortal body.
Constructs - A Construct, such as one created using a Manual of Golems, functions normally inside an Antimagic field, while a Construct summoned with a spell like Summon Construct would wink out of existence.
Shapechanging - A Lycanthrope can normally change forms at will, reverting to it's original human form when it dies. This functions normally inside an Antimagic field.
Monks and ki - Monk abilities are fueled by an internal reserve of power called ki. Monks harness the power of ki to create magical effects and exceed the limitations of their physical bodies. Some of their abilities can even disrupt the flow of ki in others.
Since magical effects cannot be created in an Antimagic field, Monk abilities that try to do this are ineffective while inside.
As a rule of thumb, if you have to spend ki to use it, you can't use it inside an Antimagic field.
Do Core Monk Abilities Work inside an Antimagic field?
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Unarmored Defense | Ki-Fueled Attack |
| Martial Arts | Deflect Missiles* |
| Dedicated Weapon | Focused Aim |
| Unarmored Movement | Quickened Healing |
| Extra Attack | Stunning Strike |
| Ki-Empowered Strikes | Diamond Soul* |
| Evasion | Flurry of Blows |
| Stillness of Mind | Step of the Wind |
| Purity of Body | Patient Defense |
| Tongue of the Sun and Moon | |
| Timeless Body | Empty Body |
| Perfect Self |
The sixth level Monk class features Ki Empowered Strikes and Magic Kensei Weapons are examples of ki abilities that allow Monks to exceed the limitations of their physical bodies, allowing them to overcome resistance and immunity to non-magical damage without actually making the attacks magical. These abilities function inside an Antimagic field because the effects that provide these advantages have no ongoing or individual use cost, and cannot be dispelled. They're just a part of the Monk now.
Deflect Missiles - You can use your reaction to deflect missiles, but you cannot spend ki to make an attack with a missile you catch while inside an Antimagic field.
Diamond Soul - You still have proficiency with all saving throws, but you cannot spend ki to reroll while inside an Antimagic field.
Empty Body - is a two part ability. The first part allows you to spend 4 ki points to become Invisible and gain damage resistance for one minute. If this was used, and then the Monk moved into an Antimagic field, the effects would persist for the duration, but the Monk could not activate this ability while inside. This works because the Monk is overcoming the physical limitations of his own body, but he would not be able to spend ki to do this while inside an Antimagic field. The second part says you can spend 8 ki points to cast the Astral Projection spell, which definitely won't work inside an Antimagic field because it specifically prohibits planar travel and teleportation, and at the end of the day it is still a spell that is being cast, so this is a no-go, even if they could spend ki.
Do Monk Subclass Features Work inside an Antimagic field?
None of the abilities of the Way of the Four Elements Monk function while inside an Antimagic field.
Stunning Strike, Touch of the Long Death, Quivering Palm, and Hands of Healing are examples of ki abilities that cost ki and disrupt or correct the flow of ki in another creature, and these do not work inside an Antimagic field.
Shadow Arts have no effect inside an Antimagic field.
Shadow step doesn't work, but Cloak of Shadows does.
None of the abilities of the Way of the Sun Soul Monk function while inside an Antimagic field.
None of the abilities of the Way of the Astral Self Monk function while inside an Antimagic field.
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Cloak of Shadows | Shadow Step |
| Opportunist | Shadow Arts |
| Open Hand Technique | Quivering Palm |
| Wholeness of Body | Hands of Healing |
| Tranquility | Hands of Harm |
| Touch of Death | Mastery of Death |
| Hour of Reaping | Touch of the Long Death |
| Path of the Kensei | Deft Strike |
| Magic Kensei Weapons | Sharpen the Blade |
| Unerring Accuracy | Redirect Attack |
| Draconic Disciple | Drunkard's Luck |
| Breath of the Dragon | |
| Ascendant Aspect* | Aspect of the Wyrm |
Ascendant Aspect - Blindsight works, but Augment Breath and Explosive Fury do not.
Now that we're getting the hang of this, I'm only going to list examples and specific abilities that I think might not have an obvious answer. You should be able to tell pretty quickly if an ability will work or not inside an Antimagic field. If not, defer to the lists below.
Do Artificer class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Magical Tinkering | |
| Infuse Item | |
| Flash of Genius | The Right Tool for the Job* |
| Soul of Artifice | |
| Chemical Mastery* | Experimental Elixir |
| Battle Ready* | Arcane Armor |
| Steel Defender | Eldritch Cannon |
| Improved Defender | Battlefist* |
| Construct Apotheosis* | Arcane Jolt |
The Right Tool for the Job - A tool created this way persists while inside an Antimagic field.
Chemical Mastery - You benefit from the listed resistances and immunities only while inside an Antimagic field.
Battle Ready - Magical weapons become mundane in an Antimagic field, so they do not count as magical while inside.
Battlefist - Your battle fist, or any other magical prosthesis, ceases to function as a magical item, any infusions or bonuses are suppressed, but due to the mechanical nature of the prosthesis, it still functions as a limb, and in the case of the Battlefist, it also still functions as a weapon and as a shield if you are using the Improved Battlefist.
Construct Apotheosis - While inside an Antimagic field, you benefit from the listed resistances and immunities only, .
Do Sorcerer class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Psychic Defenses | Magical Guidance |
| Restore Balance | Font of Magic |
| Draconic Resilience | Revelation in Flesh |
| Favored by the Gods | Warping Implosion |
| Unearthly Recovery | Bastion of Law |
| Eyes of the Dark | Clockwork Cavalcade |
| Strength of the Grave | Trance of Order |
| Wind Speaker | Dragon Wings |
| Heart of the Storm* | Draconic Presence |
| Wind Soul* | Angelic Form |
| Lunar Phenomenon | |
| Hound of Ill Omen | |
| Shadow Walk | |
| Umbral Form | |
| Storm Guide | |
| Storm's Fury | |
| Wild Magic |
Wind Soul - You benefit from the listed immunity, but no magical flying inside an Antimagic field.
Do Paladin class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Divine Sense | Lay on Hands |
| Divine Health | Divine Smite |
| Aura of Protection | Aura of Warding |
| Improved Divine Smite | |
| Undying Sentinel | |
| Scornful Rebuke | Elder Champion |
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Unyielding Saint | Invincible Conqueror |
| Exalted Champion | Divine Allegiance |
| Holy Nimbus | Wails from the Grave |
| Glorious Defense | Tokens of the Departed |
| Living Legend | Ghost Walk |
| Emissary of Redemption | Psionic Power |
| Relentless Avenger | Psychic Veil |
| Vigilant Rebuke | |
| Avenging Angel | |
| Mortal Bulwark | Rend Mind |
| Supernatural Resistance | Dread Lord |
Do Druid class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Wild Companion* | Wild Shape |
| Land's Stride | Natural Recovery |
| Nature's Ward | Circle Spells |
| Nature's Sanctuary | Combat Wild Shape |
| Primal Strike | Fungal Infestation |
| Speech of the Woods | Spirit Totem |
| Halo of Spores | Symbiotic Entity |
| Spreading Spores | Starry Form |
| Fungal Body | Twinkling Constellations |
| Cosmic Omen | Full of Stars |
| Summon Wildfire Spirit | |
| Cauterizing Flames | |
| Blazing Revival |
Wild Companion - Functions similarly to a familiar.
Do Cleric class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Divine Intervention | |
| Divine Strike | |
| Soul of the Forge | Channel Divinity |
| Saint of Forge and Fire | |
| Sentinel at Death's Door | |
| Blessings of Knowledge | Visions of the Past |
| Warding Flare | Voice of Authority |
| Improved Flare | Blessing of the Trickster |
| Corona of Light | Channel Divinity: Cloak of Shadows |
| Acolyte of Nature | |
| Eyes of Night* | Steps of Night |
| War Priest | Vigilant Blessing |
| Avatar of Battle |
Eyes of the Night - You, and anyone you shared it with, keeps their darkvision, but you cannot share your darkvision while inside an Antimagic field.
Do Bard class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Silver Tongue | Note of Potential |
| Unfailing Inspiration | Performance of Creation |
| Infectious Inspiration | Animating Performance |
| Unbreakable Majesty* | Unsettling Words |
| Bonus Proficiencies | Universal Speech |
| Cutting Words | Mantle of Inspiration |
| Peerless Skill | Enthralling Performance |
| Bonus Proficiencies | Mantle of Majesty |
| Fighting Style | Tales from Beyond |
| Blade Flourish | Spirit Session |
| Master's Flourish | Psychic Blades |
| Combat Inspiration | Words of Terror |
| Mantle of Whispers | |
| Shadow Lore |
Unbreakable Majesty - Your permanent appearance change persists inside an Antimagic field, but you cannot assume a majestic presence.
Do Warlock class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
None of the abilities of the The Archfey Warlock function while inside an Antimagic field.
None of the abilities of the The Great Old One Warlock function while inside an Antimagic field.
Eldritch Invocations - Many do not function inside an Antimagic field, but some do. Anything that lets you cast a spell won't work, and is not included in this list.
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Celestial Resistance | Radiant Soul* |
| Gift of the Sea | Searing Vengeance |
| Oceanic Soul | Tentacle of the Deep |
| Dark One's Blessing | |
| Dark One's Own Luck | Hurl Through Hell |
| Fiendish Resilience | |
| Genie's Wrath | Bottled Respite* |
| Elemental Gift | Limited Wish |
| Hex Warrior | Hexblade Curse |
| Form of Dread | Accursed Specter |
| Grave Touched | Spirit Projection |
| Necrotic Husk | Awakened Mind |
| Defy Death | Eldritch Master |
| Among the Dead | Cloak of Flies |
| Undying Nature | Gift of the Depths* |
| Indestructible Life | Eldritch Smite |
| Pact of the Blade* | Far Scribe |
| Pact of the Chain* | Gaze of Two Minds |
| Pact of the Tome* | Bond of the Talisman |
| Pact of the Talisman* | Ghostly Gaze |
| Aspect of the Moon | Gift of the Ever-Living Ones |
| Beguiling Influence | Gift of the Protectors |
| Devil's Sight | Improved Pact Weapon |
| Eldritch Mind | Voice of the Chain Master |
| Eyes of the Rune Keeper | Storm Aura |
| Lifedrinker | Magical Inspiration |
| One with Shadows | Bond of the Talisman |
| Thirsting Blade | Rebuke of the Talisman |
Pact Boons - Generally work inside an Antimagic field with a few minor exceptions.
Pact of the Blade - You cannot create a pact weapon as an action while inside an Antimagic field, and you cannot pull a pact weapon from or store a pact weapon in an extradimensional space. You can bring a pact weapon into an Antimagic field and it will function normally.
Pact of the Chain - Your familiar functions the same way as any other familiar inside an Antimagic field.
Pact of the Tome - You cannot cast the cantrips granted to you by your Book of Shadows.
Pact of the Talisman - Functions normally, but you cannot replace your talisman while inside an Antimagic field.
Radiant Soul - You benefit from resistance to radiant damage, but nothing else while inside an Antimagic field.
Bottled Respite - You cannot enter or leave your Vessel while it is inside an Antimagic field, nor can you hear anything from outside, as the extradimensional space is completely cut off. If the vessel is destroyed, the extradimensional space is unaffected, when the Antimagic field effect ends, you exit the vessel, along with anyone and everything that was brought inside. The ceremony to receive a replacement vessel does not work while inside an Antimagic field.
Do Barbarian class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
All Barbarian Core, Path of the Berserker, Path Of The Beast, Path of the Battlerager, and Path of Zealot class abilities function normally while inside an Antimagic field.
With the exception of Magic Awareness, Storm Soul, and Totem Spirit, none of the Path of Wild Magic, Path of the Storm Herald, Path of the Ancestral Guardian, or Path of the Totem Warrior features function while inside an Antimagic field.
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Magic Awareness | |
| Storm Soul | |
| Totem Spirit |
Do Fighter class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
All Fighter Core, Banneret, Battle Master, Cavalier, Champion, and Samurai class abilities function normally while inside an Antimagic field.
None of the Echo Knight, Eldritch Knight, Psi Warrior, or Rune Knight features function while inside an Antimagic field.
Do Ranger class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
With the exception of Primeval Awareness and Nature's Veil, all Ranger Core class abilities function normally while inside an Antimagic field.
With the Exception of Otherworldly Glamour, and Planar Warrior, none of the features of the Fey Wanderer, Horizon Walker, and Swarmkeeper Ranger function while inside an Antimagic field.
With the obvious exception of Gloom Stalker Magic, all of the features of the Gloom Stalker, and Hunter Ranger function normally while inside an Antimagic field.
| Yes | No |
|---|---|
| Ranger's Companion | Primeval Awareness |
| Primal Companion | Nature's Veil |
| Planar Warrior | Detect Portal |
| Slayer's Prey | Hunter's Sense |
| Supernatural Defense | Magic-User's Nemesis |
| Slayer's Counter | Share Spells |
| Draconic Gift | |
| Drake Companion* | Drake’s Breath |
Ranger's Companion - You can't form a bond with a companion while inside an Antimagic field, but once a bond is formed, the companion functions normally.
Primal Companion - Functions similarly to a familiar.
Drake Companion - Functions similarly to a familiar.
Drake’s Breath - While an innate breath weapon functions normally, this ability is fueled by spell slots, so it would not work inside an Antimagic field. The resulting Breath Weapon attack would, however, affect targets inside of an Antimagic field.
Do Wizard class and subclass abilities work inside an Antimagic field?
None of the Wizard Core and Subclass abilities function inside an Antimagic field, with the following exceptions:
| Yes |
|---|
| Training in War and Song |
| Extra Attack |
| Temporal Awareness |
| Portent |
| Greater Portent |
| Inured to Undeath |
| Tactical Wit |
Specific interactions
Spells
Tsunami - No effect of this spell extends inside an Antimagic field. However, anything pushed by the water may end up inside the Antimagic field.
Mighty Fortress - This spell is unaffected by an Antimagic field, although the unseen servants it creates are affected. A second casting of this spell extends the duration.
Demiplane - The door to a Demiplane winks out of existence inside an Antimagic field, but the Demiplane is unaffected.
Mordenkainen's Magnificent Mansiom - The door to a Mansion winks out of existence inside an Antimagic field, but the Mansion is unaffected, although the unseen servants it creates are affected. A second casting of this spell extends the duration.
Dream of the Blue Veil - Even a brief encounter with an Antimagic field disrupts this spell, causing it to end early.
Heroes' Feast - Benefits gained from partaking in the feast are not suppressed while inside an Antimagic field.
Planar Ally - The creature that appears as a result of casting this spell does not wink out of existence while inside an Antimagic field, but their ability to return to their home plane of existence is suppressed while inside.
True Polymorph - While the spell is active (While concentration is maintained), an Antimagic field will suppress the effect. If the spell completes, after 1 hour of concentration, the resulting permanently transformed creature or object is unaffected by Antimagic field. In addition, the spell is no longer active, so it cannot be dispelled. The only way to change something back to it's original form again is with another casting of True Polymorph.
Astral Projection - If an Antimagic field affects someone under the effect of Astral Projection, their body remains alive, but their Astral form loses the silvery cord. The cord re-appears if the Antimagic field effect is removed. If you are reduced to 0 HP while the silvery cord is suppressed, you die. Your body remains alive, but in a vegetative state, and since your soul has no way back, it is trapped between worlds forever. If your body is destroyed while inside an Antimagic field, when the effect ends, the cord does not re-appear, and your soul is similarly trapped between worlds. With no body to return to, you may not leave the Astral plane and survive.
Etherealness - To an Ethereal creature, or a creature under the effect of the Etheralness spell, an Antimagic field is an opaque, impassable barrier, and they would have no ability to see into it, affect it, or move into it. If an Ethereal creature or a creature under the effect of the Etheralnesss spell was included in the area of effect when the Antimagic field was created, the creature would be harmlessly hedged out of the area of effect, and moved to an unoccupied space outside of it. If it is not possible, the Ethereal creature would wink out until the effect ended.
Create Homunculus - Once created, a Homunculus functions normally inside an Antimagic field.
Wall of Force/Force Cage - Not affected by Antimagic field. Also, it blocks teleportation abilities, as they all rely on access to other planes. These spells collapse all of the planes together, so you can't use Teleportation or Planar travel to escape a Force Cage or a circumvent a Wall of Force that is constructed like a cube or a sphere.
Magic Jar - The effects of Antimagic on spells with multiple connection points can be a bit strange to unravel. The following are a series of examples of how these interactions should play out when Magic Jar is involved.
You cast Magic Jar and your soul moves into the Jar. Your body is affected by an Antimagic field, nothing happens. You use an action to possess a humanoid, it works fine. You use an action to return to the Jar, it works fine. You use an action to return to your own body, nothing happens. The Jar is destroyed, you die when the Antimagic field ends.
You cast Magic Jar and your soul moves into the Jar. The Jar is affected my an Antimagic field, nothing happens. You use an action to return to your body, nothing happens. You use an action to possess a humanoid, nothing happens. The Jar is destroyed, you die when the Antimagic field ends.
You cast Magic Jar and your soul moves into the Jar. You possess a humanoid, your soul moves into the humanoid, and it's soul moves to the Jar. The Jar is affected by an Antimagic field, nothing happens. You use an action to return to the Jar, nothing happens. You destroy the Jar, nothing obvious happens, but the soul that was in the jar dies when the Antimagic field ends. The Antimagic field ends, and the spell detects that the Jar is destroyed. Your soul is inside the humanoids body, but your soul is still under the effect of the Magic Jar spell, even though the Jar has been destroyed. At that point, your soul would immediately return to your original body, or try to if it was within range, otherwise you would die.
At this point, if your original body is either out of range or affected by an Antimagic field, you would die.
If we assume that 'Your body' in the spell text means either 'Your original body' or 'The body your soul is controlling when you cast the spell', if it is the first case, this will not work. You can stop trying to follow the logic of this example now. In the second case, the first casting of Magic Jar either ends when you cast it again, or it does not. If it does end, this will not work. If it does not end, and 'Your body' means 'The body your soul is controlling when you cast the spell', then this does work. See the following examples.
You cast Magic Jar and your soul moves into the Jar. You possess a humanoid, your soul moves into the humanoid's body, and the humanoid's soul moves into the Jar. You cast magic Jar again, and your soul moves into a different Jar. The first casting of Magic Jar ends. The final event triggered by the end of the first spell forces your soul to immediately return to your body. This occurs immediately before your soul moves into the new Jar because the previous spell has to end before the new spell can begin.
So, your original body would still be the same as it was for the first casting. If your original body is more than 100' away when this happens, you die (since there is no other valid version of you when this happens, you are the humanoid when this effect triggers). Even though your body is dead, the magic of the second casting of Magic Jar allows your soul to move into the second Jar, but the creature you were possessing when you cast the spell would die, and then the only remaining viable body would be your original body. If you possessed your original body and cast magic Jar a third time, you would just be back to where you started.
You cast Magic Jar and your soul moves into the Jar. You possess a humanoid, your soul moves into the humanoid's body, and the humanoid's soul moves into the Jar. You cast magic Jar again, and your soul moves into a different Jar. You possess your original body make sure you and the body of the humanoid you had possessed in the first casting are more than 100 feet away from you and either Jar. You have a friend destroy the first Jar, which forces your soul to return to your original body. You're already in your original body, the first instance of Magic Jar has ended, the soul of the humanoid you possessed is dead, and it's body is now your original body for the second casting of Magic Jar.
You bring the Jar and the bodies together and return to the Jar. Your friend destroys the second Jar, and your soul returns to the body of the Humanoid you possessed in the first casting. Now there are no instances of Magic Jar active, and your soul is permanently in the new body. Your old body is still alive, and available as a spare if you need it.
Based on these examples, I hope we can all agree that you can permanently swap bodies with someone using Magic Jar, as long as you can agree that a second casting of the spell does not end the first casting, and that 'your body' refers to the body your soul is occupying when you cast the spell.
Clone - Since we are talking about Magic Jar and body swapping, it feels like an oversight if we didn't talk about this spell in the next breath. This isn't really related to Antimagic field, but if you clone a creature that is being possessed by a different soul using Magic Jar, does the Clone create a duplicate of the possessed body, or of the soul's original body? If the Magic Jar spell ends before the clone is ready, would that soul still be eligible to transfer to the clone? If the soul returns to the original body at any point, does that affect the outcome?
When you cast Clone, you target a creature that is to be cloned.
Clone reads: "This spell grows an inert duplicate of a living creature as a safeguard against death."
Based on this text, the duplicate is based upon the biological creature, irrespective of which soul might be occupying the creature at the time, so it definitely creates a copy of the biological creature. Example: If you cast Clone on a Couatl, the resulting clone would be of a Couatl.
When the cloned creature dies, the Clone spell checks to see if that creature has a soul, and if it does, it allows that soul to transfer into the clone.
Clone reads: "if the original creature dies, its soul transfers to the clone, provided that the soul is free and willing to return."
Magic Jar Reads: "If the container is destroyed or the spell ends, your soul immediately returns to your body. If your body is more than 100 feet away from you, or if your body is dead when you attempt to return to it, you die."
Magic Jar also Reads: "If the host body dies while you’re in it, the creature dies, and you must make a Charisma saving throw against your own spellcasting DC. On a success, you return to the container if it is within 100 feet of you. Otherwise, you die."
Based on this, the original creature is the biological creature, and the soul is whatever soul happens to be occupying the body of the creature that was cloned.
In the case of Magic Jar, when the cloned creature dies, the Jar must be more than 100 feet away, otherwise the soul will return to the Jar, rendering the clone useless.
If your soul is in the cloned creatures body when it dies, it triggers both of the effects, one for Magic Jar, and one for Clone.
If we follow the rules for resolving simultaneous effects outlined in Xanathar's Guide to Everything, the player chooses the order in which the effects resolve. If the player can choose to resolve the Magic Jar effect first, (Return to your body or die, so you die, but that's ok because you already died), and then the Clone effect (your soul transfers to the clone). This would allow the soul occupying the cloned body at the time of death to transfer into the clone.
Clone reads: "The original creature’s physical remains, if they still exist, become inert"
The original creature in this section of the spell is the biological creature that your soul was possessing by means of the Magic Jar spell when you cast Clone, which means that your original body (the body you cast Magic Jar from), assuming it was cared for, is still alive, and viable, and you could use Magic Jar again to possess it, so you could keep up the appearance that you haven't become something or someone else.
In all reality, you would only need to resort to the Magic Jar\Clone combination if your Dungeon Master disagrees with the fact that a second casting of the Magic Jar spell does not end the first casting, or disagrees with the interpretation that 'your body' refers to the body your soul is occupying when you cast the Magic Jar spell.
In any case, if your DM is still opposed to this idea, you can always just use True Polymorph instead if you want to permanently become something else.
Other/Miscellaneous
Rallying Cry - Works on allies with 0 hp.
A Corpse - Is a corpse of course of course. It's not a creature, and it's not an object, it's a dead creature, a deceased creature, the recently departed. Call it what you will, but you can't use a spell on it that targets an object or a creature.
Mage Hand - The hand vanishes if it is ever outside of the range of the spell (Rather than the hard coded 30 feet in the spell description). This is how the rules were intended to be written, and would allow you to use Mage Hand with distant spell, or benefit from the Telekinetic feat.
Telekinetic Feat / Mage Hand Legerdemain / Swarmkeeper Magic - When you carry an item with an invisible or altered form of Mage Hand, A tiny or smaller object that is carried is concealed from view by the effect. For small, or larger objects, they are visible, even when carried by an invisible Mage Hand
Manifest Mind - While manifested, your senses are extended, and can be used as if you were in the spectral mind's space, instead of your own. You are able to perceive equally well from both vantage points simultaneously. This extension shares any vision modes you possess, such as Darkvision, Truesight, Blindsight, Tremorsense, with the same ranges. If you are blinded or deafened, you can still see or hear from your spectral mind's space. You may also turn on or off the light emitted by your spectral mind whenever you move it, if you expend a spell slot of second level or higher when you use this feature, you can make the spectral mind invisible as long as it is manifesting.
Prestidigitation - The effects listed in this spell are very specific, and limiting. The extent of the options to this spell could be expanded, though the specifics of how should be up to you and your DM. I might suggest a simple option to fill in one of the strange gaps for which we have no magical putty to fill. For example, there is no spell to make an Object invisible.
The Prestidigitation spell already lets you "Create an illusory image that can fit in your hand and that lasts until the end of your next turn." It would not be a stretch to say it could also make an object invisible until the end of your next turn. Any effect with a duration of "until the end of your next turn" could also easily be extended to Concentration, or optionally allow the effect to persist for the same amount of time you spent concentrating.
Stun - Any effect that takes away a player's entire turn should be used sparingly, or not at all.
Unconscious/Exhaustion/Death Saves - Rather than going Unconscious when you hit 0 HP, you gain one level of Exhaustion, and the Dying condition. While you have the Dying condition, you gain 3 levels of Exhaustion whenever you fail a Death Save, if you gain 10 levels of Exhaustion, you die. For every level of Exhaustion, you get a -1 penalty on every Ability Check, Attack Roll, or Saving Throw.
While you have the Dying condition, you may use a Reaction, gaining 3 levels of Exhaustion. On your turn, you may use a Move action, at half your normal walking speed, gaining 1 level of Exhaustion. You may use a Bonus Action, gaining 2 levels of Exhaustion, or you may use an Action, gaining 5 levels of Exhaustion.
You gain one additional Exhaustion level each time you take damage while you have the Dying Condition.
You lose the Dying condition when your Hit Point total becomes at least 1, but you retain all of your Exhaustion levels. You lose 1d4+1 Exhaustion levels per long rest.
Please Note:
You are welcome to use or not use anything and everything in this document how you see fit, as much of this content is based on my interpretation of how things should work or how the rules should have been written. In some cases, I have completely added additional functions or capabilities to features that in my opinion, should have been included in the first place.